Schenectady County Legislature Awards Fire Safety Improvement Grants to Local Fire Departments

The Schenectady County Legislature awarded Fire Safety Improvements Grants during their October Regular Meeting on Tuesday, October 10, 2017.  Grants totaling $50,000 were awarded to eleven fire departments.

“Schenectady County is proud to award these fire safety grants that will help the departments in our Towns enhance their fire protection capabilities,” said Anthony Jasenski, Chair of the Schenectady County Legislature.  “I thank all of our departments and volunteers for their dedication and commitment to ensuring the safety of all of our residents.”

The County created the grant program this year for fire companies serving Schenectady County communities outside of the City of Schenectady.  Applicants were to identify a specific need that could not be met through existing resources and/or met a newly identified need based on emerging trends. Grant applications needed to address one or more of the following: improved fire safety, emergency responses through training, equipment purchases, facility improvements and/or other fire prevention strategies.

Grants awarded are as follows:

Thomas Corners $3,500.00 Mariaville  $1,400.00
Scotia   $5,000.00 Pattersonville   $8,163.00
Beukendaal    $8,084.76 Plotterkill $8,200.00
West Glenville $1,500.00 East Glenville      $3,300.00
Glenville Hill $4,300.00 Alplaus $5,000.00
South Schenectady $1,552.24    

The Legislature also passed a resolution honoring former County Fire Coordinator John Nuzback, who passed away unexpectedly this summer, for the passion he had for teaching and helping others, while also recognizing his extraordinary dedication and service to Schenectady County.

In addition, the Legislature recognized the following individuals as Firefighters of the Year and Service Award recipients

Firefighters of the Year:

Alplaus FD Wendi Gapczynski Bekkering    Glenville Hill FD Betsy Moss
Beukendaal FD   Nick Renus Mariaville FD Mike Baker
Beukendaal FD   Ed Oliveri Niskayuna Fire District 1 Fred Miller
Duanesburg Vol FD Bob Smith Niskayuna Fire District 2 Kris Ferrara
East Glenville FD The East Glenville
Firematic Officers of 2016
Pine Grove FD   Tobis Stay
Rotterdam Fire District 2 Michael Gilmore
Esperance FD Kyle Jame Waddell Stanford Heights FD Patrick Boccio

Service Awards:

Eric Green Niskayuna FD 2 45 years of service  
Frank Day Scotia FD 42 years of service
Fred Miller Niskayuna FD 1 50 Years of Service

“It is my privilege to recognize this year’s Firefighters of the Year,” said Tom Constantine, Chair of the Committee on Public Safety and Firefighting.  “I thank all of our firefighters and congratulate those recognized today for their dedication and commitment to ensuring the safety of all of our residents.”



County Calendar

Previous Articles

  • 518 Boys Day OutEMAILProvides positive male mentorship for Schenectady City middle school boys. Runs
  • American Foundation for Suicide Prevention518-791-1544 EMAILAddresses the public health issue of sui
  • Courtney's House: Survivor to Survivor Hotline1-888-261-3665Offers an opportunity for survivors
  • Adult Protective Services1-844-697-3505 *Offers Spanish Language servicesMandated service that inves
  • Anger Management Online ClassAnger management class which satisfied court/legal requirements. A cert